Today Sat Sun
It is forcast to be Thunderstorm at 11:00 PM EDT on May 25, 2012
Thunderstorm
30°/16°
It is forcast to be Mostly Cloudy at 11:00 PM EDT on May 26, 2012
Mostly Cloudy
27°/19°
It is forcast to be Chance of a Thunderstorm at 11:00 PM EDT on May 27, 2012
Chance of a Thunderstorm
30°/16°

15 Comments

politics

RobFord.ca Was Not Hacked—But Someone Is Having a Bit of Fun

Why RobFord.ca takes you to the Toronto Star

If you try to go to Rob Ford’s website right now you will, instead of things about Rob Ford, see the above very regretful, very sorrowful message.

And then, after a few seconds, you see will this…

Given Mayor Rob Ford’s high-profile war with the Toronto Star these days, it might seem especially funny that users who punch RobFord.ca into their web browser wind up at the Star‘s website. (Note especially today’s lead story, about morale among City workers.) When word spread about the URL redirection earlier this afternoon across Twitter, many wondered if the mayor’s website had been hacked. It was a valid concern considering Ford was recently on the receiving end of a threat by Anonymous, the hacker activist network—but the truth is actually more benign, though still pretty funny.

When Mayor Rob Ford was just an angry councillor on the fringe, he used his website at RobFord.ca as a clearing house for all the things that bothered him about city council. But soon after he upgraded to the mayor’s office, all content was taken offline, with the last record of the old site at archive.org dated February 2011. Sometime over the summer the domain name was allowed to lapse, meaning that after a brief waiting period RobFord.ca became available to anyone willing to part with a few dollars to pay the registration fee.

Current domain records show that the domain’s new owner took control on November 17. The registrar is listed as “Fresh Grape Solutions Inc.,” which is a name linked to eGate Domains Inc., a Toronto-based domain registration service. EGate has a system that allows their customers to target Canadian domain names that are approaching their expiry date, automatically snagging them as soon as they become available.

One upshot of this: in contrast to a case of hacking, this particular intervention was staged by the domain’s new rightful owner, so it may actually stick around for a while rather than disappearing quickly. Or we may get a new redirect every day. (We have a few suggestions.)

For now, the identity of the new owner of Rob Ford’s old domain name remains a mystery. But regardless of who it is, this doesn’t seem like something that’s going to help ease tensions between the mayor and the Star. Good try, though.


Clarification: December 7, 11:30 AM This post originally referred to Fresh Grape Solutions Inc. as the owner of the RobFord.ca domain, when in fact it registered the domain for the owner. The wording has been changed to reflect that.

Comments

  • http://twitter.com/di0nysys Andrew Smith

    His PR people entirely dropped the ball here. Being who he is the $10/year to keep the domain would have been more than worth it. Now he is stuck with this, and someone else pretty rightfully owns the address.

  • Missquickley

    At the moment, it redirects to the wikipedia entry for Rob Ford, the Outlaw that killed Jesse James in 1882.

    • Anonymous

      The Coward Robert Ford, no less.

  • http://twitter.com/dpirraglia Daniela Pirraglia

    Now it redirects to this:
    Rob Ford (January 31, 1862 – June 8, 1892) was an American outlaw best known for killing his own gang leader Jesse James in 1882.

    And then it sends you to the wikipedia page on Rob Ford, the outlaw.

  • http://twitter.com/dpirraglia Daniela Pirraglia

    damn, you were quicker than I.

  • Anonymous

    I just tried it – still redirected me to the star – maybe because I already visited earlier?

  • David Toronto

    There are funny goings-on at spacingtoronto.ca
    and at theclamshell.blogspot.com.

    It’s been like this most of the day.

    • http://twitter.com/di0nysys Andrew Smith

      “malware detected” – crhome

    • Anonymous

      I think you mean spacing.ca.

  • Anonymous

    North.ca is linked to one A M Gonsalves, Maser Media and Brampton Media Group, whoever they are.

  • Vigico

    it’s unbelievable that he would give up his domain name – that might explain why his head is always pink…it’s too warm in there and it doesn’t work properly

  • http://twitter.com/consciousness justin(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻┻

    Now it shows something called the Rob Ford Beauty Contest. Our Mayor is in second place behind his soap opera namesake, and has a ‘handsome’ lead over the man who shot Jesse James.

    http://img62.imageshack.us/img62/9136/fordy.jpg

  • I work for a Registrar

    Fresh Grape is the registrar not the registrant.

    • Anonymous

      The post’s wording has been changed. Thanks for pointing that out.

  • Make Johnny Cash