TDSB By-Elections Are Settled




TDSB By-Elections Are Settled

Harout Manougian, the winner in TDSB ward 17. Photo from {a href=""}his Facebook page{/a}.

The Toronto District School Board by-election was yesterday, and we know now that the winners are Sam Sotiropoulos, an IT specialist who advocates for “traditional family values” (according to his website, whatever that means) and Harout Manougian, an electrical engineer. They’ll represent TDSB Wards 20 (Scarborough-Agincourt) and 17 (Don Valley East), respectively. Mary Hynes (a.k.a. “Yelly Granny“), a candidate in Ward 17, sadly lost by a few more than 300 votes, despite an impressive bunch of endorsements. TDSB held the by-election in order to fill the seats occupied by former trustees Michael Coteau and Soo Wong, who both became MPPs in October.