Today Thu Fri
It is forecast to be Partly Cloudy at 11:00 PM EDT on October 22, 2014
Partly Cloudy
13°/6°
It is forecast to be Clear at 11:00 PM EDT on October 23, 2014
Clear
14°/7°
It is forecast to be Partly Cloudy at 11:00 PM EDT on October 24, 2014
Partly Cloudy
15°/8°

Your Toronto 2014 Issue Navigator

How the candidates compare on some of the city's biggest issues.

2 Comments

news

Harder, Better, Faster, Strachanger

20080820recoveringbikes.jpg
Toronto Police have just announced that they are opening up their warehouse at 35 Strachan Avenue for seventeen more days in an attempt to get rid of some of the 2,396 bikes still unclaimed after being recovered from various raids of Igor Kenk’s many properties last month.
The warehouse will be open on Thursday, August 21 and Friday, August 22 from noon to 8 p.m.; Saturday, August 23 and Sunday, August 24 from 10 a.m., to 6 p.m.; Monday, August 25 to Friday, August 29 from noon to 8 p.m.; Saturday, August 30 and Sunday, August 31 from 10 a.m., to 6 p.m.; Tuesday, September 2 to Friday, September 5 from noon to 8 p.m.; and on Saturday, September 6 and Sunday, September 7 from 10 a.m., to 6 p.m.
As always, you’ll need to bring some kind of proof of ownership (“such as receipts or store registrations,” say the cops, though we’ve heard a photo of you with the bike is an alternate and particularly adorable method), and some form of identification. 469 bikes have already been recovered, so it’s definitely worth a shot if yours has mysteriously disappeared.
After September 7? Plans are currently in the works to convince the police to donate the remaining unclaimed bikes to those that wouldn’t otherwise be able to afford them; you can read more on Spacing’s Wire or add to the paltry 59 who’ve signed a petition about it. There would be few finer ways to make Kenk’s Clinic a proper Center for Karma Research.
Photo of the Bicycle Clinic by georgia_grrl from the Torontoist Flickr Pool.

Comments